Andrew Crust, conductor |

Awadagin Pratt, Piano Soloist


Join us for an exciting start to an unusual season. Beginning the evening is Béla Bartók's sometimes brusque but always jocular "Romanian Folk Dances", one of his most popular works and one that captures the essence of traditional village dances. From rural Romania to American ruggedness, Copland’s classic “Appalachian Spring Suite” has come to symbolize the strength and resilience of the American spirit against the vast openness of the American landscape. Closing out the program is Beethoven’s exuberant “Piano Concerto No. 4.” At the keyboard will be soloist Awadagin Pratt. Winner of the Naumburg International Piano Competition and recipient of an Avery Fisher Career Grant, Pratt is renowned for his musical insight and intensely involving performances. Pratt has toured internationally and performed with nearly every major orchestral orchestra in the US, at the White House under two different administrations, and on Sesame Street.

BÉLA BARTÓK - "Romanian Folk Dances"

AARON COPLAND - "Appalachian Spring Suite"

LUDWIG VAN BEETHOVEN - "Piano Concerto No. 4 in G Major, Op. 58"

Piano Soloist: Awadagin Pratt

This streaming event has ended.



Lima Symphony Orchestra


T:  419.222.5701

F:   419.222.6587

A:   1028 W. Market St.

      Lima, OH 45805 

Elizabeth Brown-Ellis, Executive Director


The Lima Symphony Orchestra is dedicated to preserving musical excellence as a living part of our community, now and for future generations, through performance, education and community partnerships, while always maintaining a vigilant devotion to artistic and fiscal integrity.

© 2018 by Lima Symphony Orchestra. Website design by Modo Media.

  • Facebook Social Icon